Real Women Winner #7 – Yvonne Akwetey

Congratulations to our first Twitter Real Women Winner, and seventh overall Real Women winner Yvonne Akwetey!

Our beautiful Yvonne comes from Roehampton, Greater London.  A 24 year old graduate, Yvonne currently works as an Administrator. Having always had a passion for modelling and the performing arts (singing, acting and dancing) she was often teased at school for being too tall and having big breasts which shattered my confidence.

Yvonne entered a beauty pageant in October 2010 (Miss Ghana UK) just to see if she could gain some confidence in herself to pursue a modelling and music career. Finishing 2nd runner up, it was the first time she thought “I can do this!” Yvonne was awarded 1st runner up in December 2010 at a local fashion show competition which gave her a bit more belief in myself. It’s at this point she thought “I love my body and I’m going to work with what I have!”  Which is a great motto for every woman.

When asked about the campaign, Yvonne said;

“When I saw the ad on Twitter that Michelle was looking for real women to model in her next campaign – I hesitated at first because it was a nationwide search and the biggest thing I’d have entered, but thought, I’ll give it a go after all she said she’s looking for real women. What can I loose if I don’t win? – I was absolutely gobsmacked and stunned when I won the very next day! I still pinch myself!

To be a real woman Ultimo model means an incredible amount to me because Ultimo have embraced me for who I am, just as I am and have given me an amazing opportunity! The fact that Ultimo cater for bigger breasted women is fantastic! It has given me more confidence in myself to chase my dreams and I hope this can be a testimony to others that it is always important to embrace what you have as we are all different and unique.”

So from a girl being teased for having big breasts to being in a national campaign for Real Women; the stunning Yvonne shows that you never know what’s just around the corner!  Congratulations Yvonne, and we look forward to seeing more of you very soon indeed!

Are you following Ultimo on twitter yet?  @UltimoWorld

Leave a comment